Mon. 5:45 p.m.

The walks this morning went well. Cindy’s was uneventful except the toit sisters made an appearance. I didn’t look at them having noticed they were there from a distance, and except to check for traffic, I kept my head down like I usually do. Hats are great for that as the visor not only shades eyes from the sun, it also gives a false sense of hiding from the world, something like a child.

Poor Josie had a time of it. Started out normal enough. Went straight for about 3 more blocks, turned a right with a house on the corner whose window was right beside the sidewalk. I heard a loud thud at a window and looked to see a dog, medium-sized, pawing at the window and barking it’s head off. Both Josie and I had jumped. Josie had that line down her back from her fur standing. We go down a few more blocks, turned another right to make a loop and head home and ended up on a street with more traffic than we’re used to. No sidewalk, so we were walking in grass about 4′ maybe 5′ away from the street,  something spooked her bad for as high as she jumped, and I’ve no clue why. No truck or loud noise, but something got her. She was edgy after that. On one block we usually walk, there’s a few yorkies and other small dogs on one side going out, but coming home we’re on the other side where a spaniel sometimes runs the fence. Today was spaniel day, I was tired and let Josie pull, bark, snarl and carry on while I pulled her down the walk. No correction, didn’t even pick her up. Done. Have at it. They played after lunch longer than usual, so she’s none the worse for wear.

Sis just got finished tilling up the second half of the garden. Tomorrow I’ll be on my kneeling pad, sitting on my butt, running my hands through the dirt to pull up and remove the rest of the stuff. This works out super. This frees her up completely tomorrow because I’m sure she didn’t think she’d have the time today  :)  Yay!  Win-Win.

About lilyatwt

Dogs: Cindy - pit bull mix, 12 yrs, 8 mos adopted June 6, 2001 Josie - beagle/chihuahua mix, 8 (?) adopted Jan. 6, 2012 Cats: Becky - 11 yrs (stray found 2003) Moe - 10 yrs (stray found 2004) Sally - 9 yrs, 2 mos (feral captured 2005)
This entry was posted in Dog walking, Dogs, Family, Garden, Home and Garden, Sister and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Mon. 5:45 p.m.

  1. Robbin says:

    Woo hoo for the garden progress! That’s awesome. Bummer Josie’s walk was so tough.

  2. marshmallowfluffxo says:

    sorry to hear Josie got so spooked. sometimes Bree will get spooked to by something I am not aware of. I look around and see nothing. hear nothing too. weird. well that is great the tilling got going. sounds like the garden is making real progress!

Leave a comment