Fri. 10:50 p.m.

There have been some issues of late. My husband has had all of his teeth extracted. I knew they were bad. He was seeing the dentist a few times a year to have fillings replaced. What he wasn’t telling me was his teeth were breaking off and not holding the fillings properly. He told me the day after surgery, he felt much better because they had been causing him pain. He’s healing well and will be getting dentures at the appropriate time. Fortunately, his boss allowed him to switch his vacation week so he didn’t miss any work during the post-op period.

I’ve had a falling out with my neighbor, Doomsday Donna. I knew it would happen eventually, but I guess I thought with all the errands I had been running and the help both husband and I were giving her and her friend, that wouldn’t happen. I admit it. I tried to buy a friend. I tried to buy a friend with good deeds. I was wrong; friendship comes from the heart. People show me that time and time again, but still I couldn’t stop myself.

Josie is still doing well on her walks. We see Ava from time to time. The doberman is still responding to the sound of the baton, and as long as it doesn’t decide to challenge, we’re good. Our walks have been very nice and for the most part uneventful. Beautiful, crisp, chilly autumn air. Lovely leaves. Singing birds. I’m attuned to my environment more as I continue to scan the homes and yards for potential distractions.

This month is the 20th year anniversary of my Father’s passing. I was a “daddy’s girl.” He taught me violin and organ and then bought me a piano. I sat beside him on his favorite Lazy Boy and on the back porch steps, and he explained clouds and weather to me while studying for his pilot’s license. Before he passed away, he and my Stepmom would travel to reunions of the squadron he was part of during WWII. As a child, I loved looking at the coins he had brought home from India and would take them to school for show and tell. My Mom and I spent hours looking at photos he took while he was there. Perhaps part of the sadness is I have no one to share his history with.

The weather has turned much cooler of late, and the rain is bringing down the leaves. Still, marigolds brighten up the front garden, and the Montauk daisies are standing strong and are so cheery.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

About lilyatwt

Dogs: Cindy - pit bull mix, 12 yrs, 8 mos adopted June 6, 2001 Josie - beagle/chihuahua mix, 8 (?) adopted Jan. 6, 2012 Cats: Becky - 11 yrs (stray found 2003) Moe - 10 yrs (stray found 2004) Sally - 9 yrs, 2 mos (feral captured 2005)
This entry was posted in Dog walking, Dogs, Family, Friends, Garden, Husband. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Fri. 10:50 p.m.

  1. Robbin says:

    I’m glad husband feels better! You could share Daddy stories with me, you know :).

Leave a Reply

